What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

She got pregnant at 18 but she didn’t die.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

Her wings never left – she just forgot how to fly.

 

God my eyes are on you not in the safe zone

God my eyes see you and not the familiar

God my heart seeks you and not my own fears.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

She got pregnant at 18 but she didn’t die.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

She had wings but oh she forgot how to fly.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

 

She got scared and stayed perched on her familiar tree.

She was afraid to leave her park for fear of the streets.

 

She stayed close enough to see it and hop back if she needed.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

She stopped seeing the stars for the tree branches in her way.

If only she knew she had the power to fly away on any day.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

Her hopes and dreams all clouded with fear.

She looked to the safety of the branch and tree that stood tall.

Its presence said strength when her hope was so small.

 

What happened to that girl God?

 

Did you see?

 

What happened to that girl?

 

I will confess I lost hope in the stars, in the sky in the gifts that HE gave.

I lost sight of HIS love and unending grace.

 

She got pregnant at 18 but she didn’t die.

 

You saved her and changed her. You opened her eyes.

 

What happened to that girl God?

What happened to that girl?

 

God, I am here.

I see your stars.

I see your sky.

I see that you are my strength.

I know I can fly.

 

For you are my wings, Lord. You carry me, you hold me. You cover me in storms.

You planted my tree. You gave me wings.

 

You gave my wings strength and now I will fly.

