“They are not better than you.”

Those were the powerful and releasing words spoken to me. Tears slid down my face as she continued to speak into my life and heart words that God had given her to tell.

The words were so powerful because there was the little secret I held in my head and heart open and exposed for the whole room to hear.

“They are better than you. You are not good enough.”

These words were intimate with me, like my shadow.

Always present.

Creeping behind me.

Present with every step I took and every thought I had.

The lie of not being ” good enough” held me back. There were many times I refused to speak for fear of being found out of not being smart enough to speak. That I wasn’t worthy of a seat at the table. That I was somehow an imposter amongst people who were capable and doing great things for God.

How does this insecurity fit in with the peace the Lord provides? It doesn’t, and I was convicted of having sinned against God. He had indeed created me with gifts and talents – not for me, but only to give Him glory and to draw men and women to Him alone.

When I am concerned with who (I think) others are and what (I think) they are doing, I miss the opportunity to be a blessing and witness to others of how God is my source. I am blinded and distracted by insecurity. My desire to be “good enough” is frankly saying to God that I do not approve of what He has given me and provided me to work with. Who am I to tell the Creator of the entire sky, the world and beyond that I think there could be some improvements? No man can tell God how to improve anything.

Job tried it when he declared himself righteous before God. God answered Job in Job 38: 1-5

Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind and said…

    “I will question you, and you make it known to me.

 “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?
    Tell me, if you have understanding.
 Who determined its measurements—surely you know!
    Or who stretched the line upon it?

Also, Isaiah 55: 8-9 says

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.”

 

No one has the right to cry out to God that what we have been blessed with is not sufficient for us to work with unto His will and purpose. God provides what we need in order to serve Him and bring Him glory. Whatever talent you may have that God is calling you to use  – USE IT!

In Matthew 5:13 Jesus tells believers

 “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.”

Don’t be afraid to step up; stand out and be yourself. Serve authentically, not fearing what others will think of your service unto God. In 1 Corinthians 12:18-19, Paul advises the Corinthian church that every part of the body of Christ is just where God pleases.

But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased.  And if they were all one member, where would the body be?

With these truths close to my heart and the secret out, I know that I have a role in the body of Christ that is uniquely mine. I have no right to think my gifts are not needed or be embarrassed because they are not another gift. For God wants me to shine brightly and bring glory to His name.

Matthew 5:14-16 says

 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.  Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

For whoever may be reading this and struggles with shining their lamp for the Lord, my prayer for you is that you shine brightly. Don’t hide your gifts and talents that God has given you. Serve the Lord fully with grace and love because they are not better than you either.

 

 

 

 

 

 

